Sunday Afternoon Concert Series 

Classical Pianist, Kiyoshi Tamagawa: Sunday, July 23, 2023 at 4 PM at the Lakeway Activity Center

FREE and open to the public!

Kiyoshi Tamagawa new photoThe City of Lakeway presents world renowned pianist, Kiyoshi Tamagawa as part of our Sunday Afternoon Concert Series

The event will be held on Sun, July 23, 2023 from 4-5 pm at The Lakeway Activity Center, 105 Cross Creek in Lakeway

 This event is FREE and open to the public

Classical Pianist Kiyoshi Tamagawa, Professor of Music at Southwestern University and Associate Dean for the Sarofim School of Fine Arts from 2014 to 2017, has performed as a soloist and collaborative pianist throughout North America, as well as Europe and Asia. He is the 2013 recipient of the Collegiate Teaching Award of the Texas Music Teachers’ Association, and the 2016 Third Prize Winner of the American Prize Lorin Hollander Piano Concerto Award competition. His collaboration with the late violinist Eugene Fodor resulted in over thirty recitals and a CD of violin and piano music, “Witches’ Brew.” 

He received his D.M.A. in 1988 from The University of Texas at Austin, his Master of Music in 1983 from Yale University School of Music, and his Bachelor of Music in 1980 from Oberlin College Conservatory of Music. His brilliance on the piano is only matched by his knowledge of his craft. 

Program coming soon!

You won’t want to miss this amazing and informative concert!

The Austin Brassworks: Sunday, August 6, 2023 at 4 PM at the Lakeway Activity Center

FREE and open to the public!

Photo of five members of the Austin Brassworks band holding various instruments.

The City of Lakeway presents The Austin Brassworks as part of our Sunday Afternoon Concert Series

 The event will be held on Sun, Aug 6, 2023 from 4-5 pm at The Lakeway Activity Center, 105 Cross Creek in Lakeway

 The Austin Brassworks formed in 2018 to explore original works for brass quintet, including those by the Nineteenth Century composer, Victor Ewald, and more contemporary composers of quintet literature, such as John Cheetham and Michael. Over time, the group’s repertoire has broadened to include high-quality transcriptions of music in a wide range of styles that were originally voiced for other instruments. Though first and foremost a brass quintet, the Brassworks will enlist other players as the music dictates, much like the Phillip Jones Brass Ensemble.

The five core musicians in the ensemble are familiar faces in the local musical scene. They play in a range of groups and styles – jazz, big band, polka, wind ensemble, brass band, orchestral and, of course, quintet. The five members of the core quintet are Robert Laguna, trumpet; Jose Yznaga, trumpet; Chris Willuhn,  French horn; Danny Schmidt, trombone; Mark Cain, tuba.

The program will be as follows:


Vuelta del Fuego, Kevin McKee

Variations on a Joke, Peter Schickele

Puttin' on the Ritz, Irving Berlin, arranged by Stephen Roberts

La Virgen De La Macarena, Traditional, arranged by Geoffrey Bergler

Frere Jacques, Traditional, arranged by John Iveson

Largo al Factotum, Gioacchino Rossini, arranged by Jean-François Taillard

East St Louis Toodle oo, Bub Miley and Duke Ellington

Hoooo Raw, Paul G. Burrucker

Trombonology, Tommy Dorsey, arranged by Joshua Hauser

Bocoxe, Baden Powell de Aquino, arranged by Gary Buttery/Charles Warren

Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen, Sholom Secunda, arranged by Zack Smith (encore: don’t list in program)